Servers and services

Server role management

Last updated: April 2022

Support documentation / Server roles

About server roles

Each server within your Enhance Estate can have the following roles installed - application, email, database, backup and DNS.

The Enhance role is specific to your primary control panel server. It cannot be removed or uninstalled. Only one control server is possible within an Enhance deployment. Automatic failover of this role to a subordinate server is an upcoming feature.

Install a new role

When a new role is installed it will provision a number of docker containers to the target server. These containers are managed by Enhance and will be destroyed, restarted and re-created automatically as required. All data which is required to be persistent is stored within persistent volumes or mounts to the host system.

To add a role to an existing server:

  1. Open ‘Servers’ in the left side bar
  2. Select ‘Manage’ on the server you’d like to add the service to
  3. Navigate to the ‘Add service’ tab located in the ‘Service’ section
  4. Click the ‘Add service’ tab
  5. Select the roles you would like to enable and click ‘Add services’ to finish

Install role


You can navigate away from the server page when a service is being installed and you will be notified when the installation is completed.

New roles will not automatically be mapped to websites. If you are installing a role which did not previously exist on your Enhance estate and you want to map existing websites to it so they can use the new functionality, use the "move server" option from the left hand menu.

Service configuration

By default all services installed on a server role automatically inherit the global Service settings configured in your ‘Service settings'. Once installed some global service settings can be overridden on a per role basis.

Email role

  • SMTP Settings - You can configure the server to relay through a designated smart host - potentially an outbound SMTP filtering/scrubbing service.

Application role

  • PHP FPM settings. These settings affect every website's default PHP FPM but can be overridden on a per-website basis.

You can learn more about php FPM configuration here.

  • PHP INI settings - These settings affect every website's default php.ini but can be overridden on a per website basis by the master organisation, reseller or end user.

You can learn more about php.ini configuration here.


Database


my.cnf manager. You can set custom my.cnf directives. Be careful, incorrect settings can cause data corruption. Enhance will verify that the settings are valid and that MySQL will restart with them enabled but no further checks are carried out.

Service settings button



To override global service settings on an individual role:

  1. Open ‘Servers’ in the left side bar
  2. Select ‘Manage’ on the server
  3. Navigate to the ‘Role’ you’d like to configure custom settings for
  4. Click ‘Settings’

All global services which can be overridden will be highlighted with a 'DEFAULT' tag

Delete a role from a server

Deleting a role will remove it from the server. All relevant containers and their data will be removed.

You cannot delete a role which has websites mapped to it. You must delete all websites or migrate them to other servers (see 'move server' in the main menu) first.

To delete a role from a server:

  1. Open ‘Servers’ in the left side bar
  2. Select the role you want to remove
  3. Click ‘Remove Service`

Disable/Enable a role

Disabling a service will prevent any new websites from being placed on that service.

Existing websites relying on that service will not be affected. A disabled service can be enabled at any point.


To disable a service:

  1. Open ‘Servers’ in the left side bar
  2. Select ‘Manage’ on the server that host the service you’d like to disable
  3. Navigate to ‘Services’ and click on the tab of the service you would like to disable
  4. Click ‘Disable service’
  5. Click ‘Disable’ to finish


To enable a service:

  1. Open ‘Servers’ in the left side bar
  2. Select ‘Manage’ on the server that host the service you’d like to enable
  3. Navigate to ‘Services’ and click on the tab of the service you would like to enable
  4. Click ‘Enable service’
  5. Click ‘Enable’ to finish

Restart a role

There are two different types of service restarts:


A Graceful restart will wait for all processes to finish before restarting each service on the server. Websites relying on a service that is restarting will be offline. You will be notified when a graceful restart starts and finishes.

A Forceful restart will immediately kill all processes running on the service. Websites relying on a service that is restarting will be offline.
You will be notified when a graceful restart starts and finishes.


To restart a service:

  1. Open ‘Servers’ in the left side bar
  2. Select ‘Manage’ on the server that host the service you’d like to reboot
  3. Navigate to ‘Services’ and click on the tab of the service you would like to enable
  4. Click either ‘Graceful restart’ or ‘Forceful restart’
  5. Click ‘Restart now’ to finish


You can navigate away from the server page when a service restart is taking place and you will be notified when the restart is complete

Still need help?

Our support team are on hand to help 9am - 9pm GMT.