Server management

Server groups

Last updated: August 2022

Support documentation / Server groups

About

A server group is a selection of servers that can be linked to one or multiple shared hosting packages. When a shared hosting package is linked to a server group all websites added to that hosting package will automatically be provisioned on servers within that group.

Server groups are particularly useful for web hosting companies who want to offer geographical based hosting packages (for example UK based hosting) or guarantee that hosting packages are placed on servers of a particular spec.

Server groups


Add a server group

An unlimited number of server groups can be added to your cluster.


To add a server group:

  1. Click ‘Servers’ in the left sidebar
  2. Select 'New group'
  3. Input your group name and hit ‘Add’ to finish


Add a server to a server group

To add an existing server to a server group:

  1. Click ‘Servers’ in the left sidebar
  2. Select the drop down kebab on the server and click 'Manage'
  3. When the manage server page loads. Select the kebab menu in the top right hand corner and select 'General'
  4. Select an existing server group or select 'Add group' to add a new server group


Delete a server group

We recommend that you do not delete server groups that are linked to hosting packages. Deleting a linked server group will cause all new websites added to the linked hosting package to fail to provision.


To delete a server group:

  1. Click ‘Servers’ in the left sidebar
  2. Select the edit button next to the group you would like to delete
  3. When the modal loads, click ‘Delete’


Before you can proceed the hosting group must already exist.

To link a hosting package to a server group:

  1. Click ‘Settings’ in the left sidebar
  2. Select 'Packages'
  3. Select 'Add package'
  4. Under 'package type' select 'Shared' and then select a server group from the drop down


    Link_server_group_to_package

Still need help?

Our support team are on hand to help 9am - 9pm GMT.